Geographical Location

Hainan Province is located at the southernmost tip of China. The northern part of Hainan and Guangdong Province are delimited by the Qiongzhou Strait. The west of Hainan is opposite to Vietnam, and they are separated by the Beibu Gulf. The eastern and southern parts of Hainan are deep in the South China Sea, adjacent to the Philippines, Brunei, Indonesia and Malaysia. The administrative area of Hainan Province includes the islands and reefs of Hainan Island, Paracel Islands, Zhongsha Islands, and Nansha Islands and their sea areas. It is the largest province in the country. The province's land (mainly including Hainan Island, Xisha, Zhongsha, and Nansha Islands) has a total area of 35,400 square kilometers and a sea area of about 2 million square kilometers. The total length of the coastline is 1944 kilometers, and there are 68 harbors of varying sizes.

Hainan Island is low and flat all around, towering in the middle, forming a topography of Qionglong Mountain. With Wuzhishan and Yinggeling as the core of the uplift, Hainan Island descends gradually to the periphery. Hainan Island consists of mountains, hills, platforms, and plains forming a ring-shaped layered landform with obvious cascade structures.

LINK Related Links
  • Beijing
  • Hebei
  • Jilin
  • Shanghai
  • Jiangsu
  • Zhejiang
  • Anhui
  • Fujian
  • Jiangxi
  • Henan
  • Hubei
  • Hunan
  • Guangxi
  • Sichuan
  • Guizhou
  • Shaanxi
  • Xinjiang
  • Hong Kong
  • Macao

About Us

Copyright The People's Government of Hainan Province. All Rights Reserved.

Approved by: General Office of Hainan Provincial People's Government.

Qiong ICP License No. 05000041-1

Government Website Identification Code: 4600000001

Qiong Computer Information Network International Internet Unit 46010802000004